top of page
White Fabric


Thank you to everyone who made it to the 2022 Healthy Flint Research Coordinating Center  Research Symposium! We sincerely appreciate your time, attention, and contributions to making this event a success. We hope you stay in touch and we are excited to see you next year!

The Long Road Ahead

Building Capacity, Building Partnership

White Fabric

What did you think?

Did you join us on September 30th, 2022 for the HFRCC Research Symposium? No matter how long you were at the Riverfront or what role you played, we would love to hear about your experience. Let us know what went right, what you enjoyed the most, and what we should keep in mind for next year by taking our brief, 10 minutes online survey.

Looking Back

The 2022 HFRCC Research Symposium was a day for connection, reflection, learning, and growing. We heard from our incredible keynote speaker, Dr. Apryl Brown, and saw brief presentations by four oral presenters, sharing their important Flint-focused work. Next, we had a poster session, featuring 42 posters on cutting-edge Flint researchAfter lunch, we heard from our six panelists about how the Flint community has responded to COVID-19. Guests split up to take part in breakout conversations about public health in Flint, moderated by community and academic experts. Finally, we honored community and academic members for their outstanding Flint-focused work in an awards ceremony. See award winners below. Thank you so much for joining us! 

Award Winners

Early Career Award

Community: Kayleigh Blaney, MPH, DrPH-c

Academic: Maji Debena, PhD, MSW

Student Poster Award

Winner: Korrine Finkbeiner

Abstract: Association Between Housing Stability and Quality of Life Among People Aging with Long Term Physical Disabilities

Champion Award

Community: Erica Thrash-Sall

Toby Citrin Academic: Donald Vereen, MD, MPH

People's Choice Poster Award

Winner: Candace Whitfield

Abstract: Reach Out Partners: Utilizing social support in a mobile health, behavioral intervention to reduce blood pressure in emergency department population.

Community-Academic Partnership Award

Dominique Prince


Steven Ondersma, PhD

Symposium Speakers

Thanks to all of our guests, speakers, poster presenters, and volunteers! This event could not have happened without your interest, engagement, and dedication to the Flint community. A special thank you to all of our speakers:

Keynote: Apryl Brown, MD, MPH, FRSPH

Opening Remarks:

Debasish Dutta, PhD

Mayor Sheldon Neeley

Lisa Prosser, PhD


Katie Baxter, LMSW, CCDP-D, CCS, CAADC and Jennifer Johnson, PhD

Mother Sandra Jones and Todd Lucas, PhD, MA

Kevelin Jones, MEd and Beth Kubitskey, PhD, MS

Breakout Moderators:

Asa Zuccaro and Julia Felton, PhD

Monica Villarreal, MDiv, MSW and Lesli Skolarus, MD, MW

Kerry Downs and Richard Sadler, PhD, MPH

Moses Bingham and Laney Rupp, MPH

Oral Abstract Presenters:

Sarah Egan, MPH, RD

Athena McKay, MSA

Chelsea Wentworth, PhD, MPH

Kristen Senters Young, MA, CAADC

Webinar Guest:

Ella Greene-Moton

Closing Remarks:

Jennifer Edwards-Johnson, DO, MPH

Symposium questions? Send us an email at

bottom of page